Author Topic: Starting to run  (Read 2050 times)

Offline air_run

Starting to run
« on: March 22, 2010, 11:27:56 AM »
I am new to this whole long distnance thing. I need like a good work out plan and should I be taking any sort of supplements or  a specific diet also good shoes for people with flat feet. Pretty much any advice for beginners would be great! also what types of cross training should I be doing and help would be awesome.

Offline Ryan

• Just another crazy runner
  • Administrator
  • 2011 Walleye Run
    • Hillrunner.com
Re: Starting to run
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 12:39:39 PM »
Wow, it's great to see all the new people posting recently. Welcome to distance running (the way you say this, did you happen to be a sprinter in a "former life"?) and Hillrunner.com.

As for advice, you bring up four things specifically:

Workout plan: When first starting out, the best plan is to just get out the door as consistently as possible. Just get out as many days as possible for 20-30 minutes a day if that's what you're ready for. If you aren't ready for 20-30 minutes, work in some walking breaks (alternate 1 minute runs with 2 minute walks, 4 minute runs with 1 minute walks, or whatever balance is right for your current fitness level) so you can keep moving for that amount of time. Over time, you can phase those walking breaks out. When you're consistently running 30 minutes a day more days than you are not, stop by and ask for more. Until then, I think it's best that we don't get too far ahead of ourselves. Of course, if you're already there, feel free to say so.

Supplements: There's a lot of debate about this. My usual suggestion is eat a healthy diet with a lot of fruits and veggies, take a one-a-day if you feel the need, and don't bother with anything else unless you have a specific reason for doing so.