Author Topic: Colorado to defend men's & women's NCAA titles  (Read 617 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ryan

  • Just another crazy runner
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 8247
  • Karma: 11
  • 2011 Walleye Run
Colorado to defend men's & women's NCAA titles
« on: November 18, 2005, 07:21:11 PM »
The nation's finest collegiate harriers will battle for team and individual honors Monday at the 2004 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships at Indiana State University's Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Indiana.

The University of Colorado won the men's and women's team titles at the 2004 NCAA Division I Championships in Terre Haute. In capturing the women's national team title Colorado was paced by Renee Metevier's runner-up finish in 20 minutes, 26 seconds. Liza Pasciuto placed ninth in 20 minutes, 48 seconds, while Christine Bolf rounded out the Top 10 in 20:48. Other scorers for Colorado were Sara Slattery in 20th place in 21:07, and Natalie Florence finished 22nd in 21:08. Colorado finished the event with 63 points to claim the title. Duke University was the runner-up with 144 points, with Providence third with 164 points and Notre Dame fourth with 170 points. The win marked the second national championship for Colorado, having previously won in 2000.

Kim Smith of Providence College finished the course in 20:08 to win the individual crown. Smith, who previously won NCAA Championships in indoor track for the 3,000 and 5,000 meters, as well as in outdoor track for the 5,000 meters during 2004, finished the cross country season undefeated. She took All-American honors in cross country a season ago; finishing second at last year's national championships. Smith is the first runner from the Providence women's program to win an individual national title.

Colorado's previously unbeaten Renee Metevier finished second in of 20:26, while Columbia's Caroline Bierbaum was third in 20:30. 2002 NCAA Champion Shalane Flanagan's 6 km course record of 19:36.0 was not challenged due to the muddy conditions.

Colorado's men's squad won the team championship with a narrow four-point win over the University of Wisconsin. The Buffaloes placed three runners in the top 25 led by Brent Vaughn, who paced Colorado in fourth, finishing the 10 km course in 30:49. Bret Schoolmeester was fifth in 30:57. Other Colorado scorers were Jon Severy in 15th in 31:27; Stephen Pifer placed 31st in 31:57 and James Strang was 35th in 32:00.

Colorado's winning tally in the team competition was 90 points, followed by Wisconsin (94 points) with three runners in the Top 11, but Colorado's two runners in the top five was too much to overcome. Arkansas was third with 202 points, placing three runners in the top 25. Butler was fourth with 243 points.

The Badgers were paced by Simon Bairu, who won the individual competition and his first NCAA title in 30:37. Matt Gonzales of New Mexico was second in 30:40, and Arkansas' Josphat Boit was third in 30:41.