Author Topic: Couch to half going great, need training advice  (Read 9787 times)

Offline Celeste the best

Couch to half going great, need training advice
« on: October 15, 2016, 08:51:26 PM »
Hello! I'm new to running. I'm not sure where this idea of training for a half marathon came from, but I'm 8 weeks into a couch to half marathon training and it's going well. Well, it was until I sprained my ankle 2 weeks ago. Recovering well. I'm not discouraged. My question has always been this: I live in western New York, between Rochester and Buffalo. The race is in February in Glendale, AZ. The general elevation is in Glendale is about 500 feet higher than here, so I'm not concerned about that. My concern is 1. Training in the cold here then performing in a race in 70 degrees, and 2. Compensating for 10% average humidity there and 60% average humidity here. Last time I went there, after about 4 hours, I could feel my skin shriveling from the moisture being evaporated from it at a rapid rate. Lol I'm not concerned with my skin, per se, but rather breathing that dry air and moving through that dry air. Will it be different? Maybe I'm concerned over nothing, but I don't want to go all that way and have my sister beat me across that line! (I recruited her into this crazy thing but she lives there).

Offline Ryan

• Just another crazy runner
  • Administrator
  • 2011 Walleye Run
    • Hillrunner.com
Re: Couch to half going great, need training advice
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2016, 06:21:11 PM »
Hi Celeste,

I'll try to address your concerns in order. First, though, make sure you take good care of that ankle. You don't want an ankle problem nagging you all the way to the half marathon.

As for the elevation, you're right to not be concerned. You shouldn't even notice a difference.

As for the actual concerns you list: