Alan Culpepper named USATF Athlete of the Week

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Alan Culpepper named USATF Athlete of the Week

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 12 years, 4 months ago.

  • Author
  • #5655


    INDIANAPOLIS – Alan Culpepper has been named USA Track & Field's Athlete of the Week after winning the men's half marathon Saturday at the 2006 Denver Marathon in Denver, Colo.

    A two-time Olympian, Culpepper easily won the men's half-marathon division in 1 hour 04 minutes 52 seconds, despite a wrong turn near the finish. Wearing the bib number “2008” to symbolize the year of the next Olympics he hopes to compete in, Culpepper posted his best performance since battling anemia this summer. Culpepper used the race as a tune-up for the New York City Marathon on Nov. 5.

    Now in its sixth year, USATF's Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

    2006 USATF Athlete of the Week Winners: January 3, Walt Henning; January 10, Amandi Rhett; January 17, Kevin Eastler; January 24, Marisa Hanson; January 31, Me'Lisa Barber; February 7, Reese Hoffa; February 14, Wallace Spearmon; February 21, Ryan Hall; February 28, Terrence Trammell; March 7, Ryan Harlan; March 14, Walter Davis; March 21, Bill Collins; March 28, Johnnye Valien; April 4, Deena Kastor; April 11, Trey Hardee; April 18, Meb Keflezighi; April 25, Deena Kastor; May 2, Alan Webb; May 9, Bershawn Jackson; May 16, Justin Gatlin; May 23, Kim Kreiner; May 30, Bryan Clay; June 6, Sanya Richards; June 13, Xavier Carter; June 20, A.J. Acosta; June 27, Lashinda Demus; July 5, Ebony Collins; July 11, Jeremy Wariner; July 18, Dominique Arnold; August 1, William Wynne; August 8, Nadine O'Connor; August 15, Walter Henning; August 22, Chris Carter; August 29, Khadevis Robinson; September 5, Sanya Richards; September 12, Tyson Gay; September 19, Sanya Richards; September 26, Dennis Simonaitis; October 3, Wallace Spearmon; October 10, Ryan Hall; October 17, Alan Culpepper.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.