Allen Johnson named USATF Athlete of the Week

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Allen Johnson named USATF Athlete of the Week

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 14 years, 11 months ago.

  • Author
  • #1278


    INDIANAPOLIS – Allen Johnson has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after tying the American record and winning the gold medal in the 60m hurdles at the 2004 IAAF World Indoor Track & Field Championships in Budapest, Hungary.

    A four-time U.S. champion indoors, Johnson ran 7.36 seconds in posting the second-fastest time in history to win his third world indoor gold medal in the men’s 60m hurdles, tying Greg Foster’s American record set in January of 1987 at Los Angeles, Calif. Just a week prior, the former North Carolina Tar Heel won his third consecutive indoor men’s 60m hurdles title with a winning time of 7.44 seconds at the USA Indoor Track & Field Championships in Boston.

    Other medal winning performers for Team USA at the World Indoor championships this past weekend include Stacy Dragila who broke her own American record to win a silver medal in the women’s pole vault with a clearance of 5.81meters/15 feet, 9.25 inches; Gail Devers picked up a gold medal in the 60m dash (7.08) and silver in the 60m hurdles (7.78); Savante Stringfellow came from behind to win the men’s long jump with a mark of 8.40m/27-6.75; Shawn Crawford added a silver in the men’s 60m (6.52); Christian Cantwell (21.49m/70-6.25) and Reese Hoffa (21.07m/69-1.5) went 1-2 in the men’s shot put; Bryan Clay picked up a silver medal in the men’s heptathlon (6,365 points) and Shayne Culpepper grabbed a bronze medal in the women’s 3,000m (9:12.15).

    Now in its fourth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

    2004 USATF Athlete of the Week Winners: January 13, Dan Taylor; January 20, Jen Toomey; January 27, Erin Gilreath; February 3, Jearl Miles-Clark; February 10, Alan Culpepper; February 17, Curt Clausen; February 24, Jen Toomey; March 2, Gail Devers; March 9, Allen Johnson.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.