Another warm up question: Half Marathon

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Another warm up question: Half Marathon

This topic contains 12 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Husker 13 years, 6 months ago.

• Author

Husker

What sort of warm up do I need to do before my half marathon this Saturday? I was thinking of doing 1 or 2 miles then a couple of strides a bit faster than race pace, then stretching, followed by easy jogging for a few minutes finishing this within 5 minutes of the start of the race.

Sorry for all the questions about race day warm ups, it’s just something I’ve never given much thought to until recently, so I have no experience in deciding what to do.

Thanks

Ed 1

I am in the same boat as you – but I know the guys around here pretty well. The first thing you’ll here is that you have to find what works for you. In December at Jingle Bell (10K) a bunch of us did a short (1-1.5 miles) very light jog and some stretching and that was it. I had never before warmed up but will from now on. Unfortunately you are going to need a lot of experimentation to find the best for you – as I will be going through this year and next year as well.

Zeke
    Husker wrote:
    What sort of warm up do I need to do before my half marathon this Saturday? I was thinking of doing 1 or 2 miles then a couple of strides a bit faster than race pace, then stretching, followed by easy jogging for a few minutes finishing this within 5 minutes of the start of the race.

Sorry for all the questions about race day warm ups, it’s just something I’ve never given much thought to until recently, so I have no experience in deciding what to do.

Thanks

I think it depends on the shape you’re in and what your goals are for the race.

If you’re just hoping to finish the half, then you can use the early miles as a warmup.

If you don’t have any runs in the 13-15+ mile range, you probably don’t need 2 mile warmup.