Bowerman Mile features fast field at Pre Classic

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Bowerman Mile features fast field at Pre Classic

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 11 years, 8 months ago.

  • Author
  • #6333


    Four of the world's top ten men's milers will toe the line June 10 at the 2007 Prefontaine Classic at the University of Oregon's historic Hayward Field in Eugene.

    The fourth event of USA Track & Field's 2007 Outdoor Visa Championship Series, the Prefontaine Classic will be televised live on NBC, Sunday, June 10, from 4:00 – 6:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

    The field includes nine runners with lifetime mile bests under 4-minutes, which could jeopardize the Hayward Field and Prefontaine Classic record of 3 minutes 49.92 seconds set six years ago by Hicham El Guerrouj.

    Americans leading the way include two-time Olympic medalist and defending Bowerman Mile champion Bernard Lagat, who ended the 2006 season ranked #3 in the world in the 1,500/mile by Track & Field News. Two-time U.S. Outdoor champion and reigning national indoor titlist Alan Webb returns to The Bowerman Mile, where he ran a 3:53.43 at the 2001 Pre Classic to set the national high school record. Webb's performance bettered the previous standard set by National Track & Field Hall of Famer Jim Ryun 36 years earlier. Webb's win at the Drake Relays on April 28 in 3:51.71 is the fastest mile time in the world this outdoor season. Another American to keep an eye on is 2006 U.S. Indoor mile champion Chris Lukezic.

    A strong international contingent will be led by Kenyan Alex Kipchirchir, who won the Bowerman Mile in 2005, was the runner-up to Lagat last year in Eugene and ended the 2006 season ranked #1 in the world. Also watch for Kenyan Daniel Komen, who ran the fastest 1,500m time in the world last year of 3:29.02, and ended the season ranked #5 in the world. Fellow Kenyan Shadrack Korir, who posted 1,500m wins at Lausanne and Madrid last season, also could be a factor.

    Tickets are available at the Casanova Center ticket office in Eugene by calling 1-800-WEBFOOT, or online at USATF welcomes you to pay with your Visa.

    For more information on the 2007 Visa Championship Series, visit

    Bowerman Mile field
    Bernard Lagat
    Alan Webb
    Alex Kipchirchir (Kenya)
    Daniel K. Komen (Kenya)
    Shedrack Korir (Kenya)
    Chris Lukezic
    Kevin Sullivan (Canada)
    Nicholas Kemboi (Kenya)
    Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)
    Said Ahmed
    Rob Myers
    Ryan McKenzie (Canada)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.