Calling out for advice from you runners out there

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Calling out for advice from you runners out there

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 13 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Anonymous

Please help me: I have been shopping for a treadmill for about 2 months now. I have looked at the True, Landice, Precor, and the mother lode of all of them – the Woodway. I have bad knees- your proverbial PFS many of us deal with. I use the chopat and mcdavid patella straps and I buy the clunker New Balance model. I’ve run on treadmills throughout the years at gyms but I no longer find the gym conducive to my life. I would like a treadmill at home to get on and run and jump in the shower and be done and off to work. I just am so torn!- 🙁 – I want the Woodway. I salivate when I think of the Woodway. It’s just heavenly. If there are treadmills in heaven, they’d only be Woodway. Anyhow, that’s how badly I want on. Problem: least expensive model = $7,000. Ooouuuch. True 550CI under $5,000, True 540HRC with orthopedic belt is my 2nd choice at $4000-ish range. I did not like the Landice – found it too hard…for me. The precor was just okay. I know they pride themselves on the footplant technology they tout. The precor is the best bang for the buck in my opinion at $3000. (all mentioned prices are those at the model I think I could settle with) But I just don’t want to buy the True or Landice or Precor for what they ask for. They are all based on flywheel tech as opposed to airbrush motor tech. But my first priority is shock absorption. I struggle with how much money to put on my knees. My goal is to run on the treadmill 5-6 times a week. I want a treadmill in my home that I see and want to run on. I feel the Woodway is the one but I need your advice. Does anyone have experience w/ the Woodway as far as reliability and support and anything you know about it. I think the 11 mph is enough for me. I don’t need any fancy pr