Devising an Efficient Training Plan

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Devising an Efficient Training Plan

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Irun100s 7 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

Ryan
    Keymaster

In order to foster some discussion on the forum and to help share the wealth of knowledge across an Internet full of running websites, I thought I’d occasionally post links to articles and offer my take on them. This is my first attempt at that. I’ll see how this goes and decide if it’s worthwhile to continue.

As most of you probably know, I’m not a fan of “cookie cutter” type training plans. I have encountered people who have followed these plans to the letter and then freak out when they miss one run or have to shift the schedule a bit. You know what? Those plans you find in books are just guidelines, they aren’t meant to be followed to the letter. This is why Hillrunner.com doesn’t have any “cookie cutter” type plan on it. I’ve actually wanted to write an article about how to build a training plan and probably will. However, I wonder if there is really a need to so now that I’ve found this article by Joe Rubio, which covers just that topic.

Rubio points out the six essential components of training for distance runners (weekly long runs, regular general aerobic runs and doubles, tempo runs, long intervals, short intervals, recovery) and then discusses the need for them and how to fit them into the schedule. A few key points I would take from this are below.