Donating Blood

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Donating Blood

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  ParagonCD 12 years, 11 months ago.

• Author

Randon Q. I was a regular blood donor before I started training seriously. Somewhere along the way I decided that it wasn’t a good idea for me to donate blood.

I just wondered if I’m off base. I have made an assumption that some of the elements I train so hard to get would be removed if I donate.

Thanks for your insights,

Chris in Chi-town

You are right to be concerned. Donating blood will affect your running, I’ve heard some people say it has affected them for as much as a month or more. It would seem like common sense that removing a pint of blood is going to affect your body’s ability to carry oxygen and other materials throughout your body. At the same time, of course we have to balance that with helping out our fellow human beings. My usual suggestion is to not donate when you are training for an upcoming race or when your race is coming up. The best situation would be to donate immediately following the end of a racing season. So, if you are focusing on a marathon, do so as quickly as reasonably possible after the marathon. If you are competing in a series of races, aim for right after the final race of the series. In base training, donating probably wouldn’t hurt that much but I personally would shy away from it.

The other consideration is plasma donation. I haven’t seen a lot on this topic but, since you are not losing red blood cells, I would think this might allow you to be back to full power more quickly.

Of course, this is coming from someone who is not allowed to donate blood because of weight restrictions they place on donors, so I can’t offer anything beyond the physiology behind the question and the experiences of others.

Ed 1