Hill repeats during base building

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Hill repeats during base building

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Manwich5 13 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

Manwich5

I am planning on building a 10 week aerobic base. right now i am just beginning week 7. My question is……Would it be ok to throw in 2-3 minute hill repeats (at a controlled pace) twice a week? Would this have negative affects on my base building? I have read that hill work can be done all year round and provides a great workout that is easy on your legs.

elkid

Hills are our friends! Go for it!

TriBob

I would stick with once a week. Your long run would be your other hard workout for the week.

Ryan
    Keymaster

I would not be too concerned about doing such a thing as long as you didn’t finish your hill workouts laying on the ground gasping for air and the workouts didn’t negatively affect your base building.

That said, remember what base phase is for. There is a strength phase following base phase that is meant for hill training. By doing hill repeats in the final few weeks of base phase, you should be at least a little careful to not end up starting your strength phase a few weeks early.

GTF

No, it is not recommended — especially since so little time will be devoted to developing an aerobic base; any anaerobic work (yes, focussed hillwork will be anaerobic) done will just compromise it further. Running hilly courses during the base period is fine, and in fact is recommended, but doing something of 120-180″ length for several bouts up a hill in the context of a workout is both unnecessary and quite potentially counterproductive in the long run. The workouts will come along in their due time, rushing things could muck up the works.

Manwich5