is a sub 3:00 reasonable?

Welcome! Forums Running Forum is a sub 3:00 reasonable?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  bdean1000 14 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

bdean1000

I am new to the forum and have spent a couple of hours reading through many postings. I have already gathered some great running advice, so I thought I would take the next step a share a bit about myself.

I am rather new at this running thing. 18 months ago I went out for a run. 30 minutes later I had completed the longest run of my life: 3 miles. 18 months later and 25 pounds lighter (I am still 6:4 and 190) I am now looking back on my second marathon. I ran the 2003 Lakefront in 3:47 and just completed the Green Bay Marathon in 3:27. My goal for the first marathon was to finish. I don’t think my weekly mileage ever went above 40 miles, which I think is what made for such a memorably painful last 6-7 miles. The recent Green Bay Marathon was completely different. I felt as if I was holding back most of the race. My goal was to finish under 3:30 and comfortable. Both goals were achieved. The entire run, including the last 6-7 miles, were no more challenging than any of my 5 20+ mile training runs. They were actually pretty comfortable; I was smiling and enjoying myself all the way to the finish line.

I have been fortunate not to get injured (an occasional sore knee and a neuroma that now seems to be under control are about it). I have been told that adding so much mileage in such a sort period of time is not the best training plan. I want to respect this advice, but I am also interested in testing my limits a bit.