Jordan Hasay named USATF Athlete of the Week

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Jordan Hasay named USATF Athlete of the Week

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 14 years, 8 months ago.

  • Author
  • #2078


    INDIANAPOLIS – Jordan Hasay of Arroyo Grande, Calif., has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after winning the Youth Girl’s race Saturday at the 2004 USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships in Shaumburg, Illinois.

    More than 2,500 athletes age 8 to 18 and 200 teams from all 57 USATF Associations competed for boys’ and girls’ titles Saturday in 10 age divisions in cold, windy and muddy conditions.

    Competing in the youth girls division, the 13-year-old Hasay entered the championships as the nation’s top runner in her age group. At the 2004 USATF National Junior Olympic Track & Field Championships this summer, she set national records in the 1,500 and 3,000 meters, and in August she set a pending 13-year-old 5 km road best of 17:05. Saturday in Shaumburg, she opened up a 20-second lead in the first half-mile of the race before cruising to a 24-second victory with a time of 14:19 over 4 km. For her outstanding performance, Hasay was named the Verizon Girl’s Athlete of the Meet.

    Now in its fourth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

    2004 USATF Athlete of the Week Winners: January 13, Dan Taylor; January 20, Jen Toomey; January 27, Erin Gilreath; February 3, Jearl Miles-Clark; February 10, Alan Culpepper; February 17, Curt Clausen; February 24, Jen Toomey; March 2, Gail Devers; March 9, Allen Johnson; March 16, Sanya Richards; March 23, Phillip Dunn; March 30, Max Springer; April 6, Colleen De Reuck; April 13, Erin Gilreath; April 20, Maurice Greene; May 4, Tonette Dyer; May 11, Toby Stevenson; May 18, Sheena Johnson; May 25, Tim Seaman; June 1, Maurice Greene; June 8, Christian Cantwell; June 15, Stacy Dragila; June 22, Alan Webb; July 6, Le Shundra “DeDee” Nathan; July 13, Maurice Greene; July 20, LaShawn Merritt; July 27, Dwight Phillips; August 3, Briana Shook; August 10, Flo Meiler; August 18, Adam Nelson; August 24, Justin Gatlin; August 30, Tim Mack; September 7, Joanna Hayes; September 14, Tim Broe; September 21, Breaux Greer; September 29, Justin Gatlin; October 5, Josh McDougal; October 12, Nicole Blood; October 19, Thomas Dalton; October 26, Dan Browne; November 2, Mary Kate Bailey; November 9, Meb Keflezighi; November 16, Missy Buttry; November 23, Renee Metivier; November 30, Andrew Bumbalough; December 7, Missy Buttry; December 14, Jordan Hasay.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.