Kevin Paulk Interview

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Kevin Paulk Interview

This topic contains 46 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  GTF 9 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

GTF

http://petemagill.blogspot.com/2009/03/kevin-paulk-on-shoes-suds-and-sprints.html

Nike's Global Running Specialty Group Director, he shares some good, candid insights on the running shoe industry:

Younger Legs: Okay, to get the ball rolling, why don't you just explain what you currently do with Nike.
    Kevin Paulk: I've been around the running shoe business for 25 years now, since I graduated from college and worked in a running specialty store. Now I take care of those stores. The running specialty stores are the ones that sell to the local runners. And if the running brands – like Nike – pay attention to them, then they've got no problem succeeding.

I was responsible for the Bowerman line – 8 shoes – and those are the shoes that turned things back around for us. The Bowerman series is what made our shoes start showing up on the feet of runners again. And what made that possible was developing relationships with the running specialty stores. They're the real shoe cobblers in this industry.

YL: The shoe cobblers?
    KP: Sure. Look, who do you go to when you want advice about running shoes – or about running itself? Our running role models are the runners who live in our neighborhoods or work in running shops. They're the ones who you can approach for advice about running.

Marketing asks all the time: Who are our athletes we can put in this television ad? And I'll tell them, “Our athletes are our friends and neighbors who run – and who will answer our questions with advice.” Because let's be honest, this is a “word of foot” business.

So the bottom line is to pay attention to the running specialty stores – the Runners Highs [for whom a certain Younger Legs blogger used to run], the Snail's Paces, the Fleet Feets, all the specialty stores. And listen to what they need.