Kwambai, Sun Weiwei the victors in Beijing Marathon

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Kwambai, Sun Weiwei the victors in Beijing Marathon

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 12 years, 4 months ago.

  • Author
  • #5649


    Beijing, China – With celebratory lion dancers setting the tone for the day, the ANA Beijing International Marathon set off from Tiananmen Square under cool, cloudy skies this morning (15). The reported temperature for the 8 a.m. start was 61 degrees Fahrenheit (16 degrees Celsius), with 77% humidity – slightly warmer and muggier than would be ideal for a championship marathon but plenty comfortable for the many spectators who made their way to Tiananmen, ringing the road around the square to see the race start. And also comfortable enough for winners James Kwambai of Kenya and Sun Weiwei of China.

    On the men's side, Kwambai won in 2:10:36, with countryman David Kipkorir, the winner of this year's Rome Marathon, coming in second ten seconds behind him. Japan's Takehisa Okino was third in 2:12:24. Kwambai won a US$20,000 prize but missed out on the $5000 bonus awarded for sub-2:10 efforts.

    IAAF article

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.