Leg Ache

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Leg Ache

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  drkelly 11 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

drkelly

I'm sorry if this has been discussed in other places I tried doing a search.  I've been running for about 2 months now and have been at 4 miles this month about 3 times a week.  What i've been running into lately if I run at 6am by the end of the day my outer thighs ache.  They continue to ache the next day also then slowly goes away.  Hot bath's usually take the ache away.  My problem is it prevents me from running I have to skip a day or two between runs.  I never have issues during runs.

I'm hoping this is cause i'm just new to running and my legs are being broken in.  I would like to start running back to back days in the future.  Any thoughts?

thanks for your time,

DK

r-at-work

I suppose I'll start with the standard stuff…

1. how sure are you that your shoes are correct for your gait (did you buy them at a RUNNING store where they watched you run?)
    2. has anyone watched you run (poor stride balance)
    3. do you do any stretching after running
    4. how about sufficient water, how's your diet, sleeping enough?… you may be running a long distance compared to some of the people on this BB, but for you it might be a lot…
    5. besides increasing your distance, have you increased your speed?
    6. have you tried running with the 'ache'… sometimes easy running can get the blood circulating through tired muscles and actually make them feel better…

plus it seems that you  are doing the same thing for every workout (?) maybe a little variety would help, instead of 3 x 4 miles, maybe 4 days but run (3, 4, 3, 4)

I'm sure others will have other insights… let us know what helps & what doesn't… good luck

-Rita

SBSpartan

+1 on everything Rita said but I would add one thing.

Have you tried icing after the run instead of a hot bath?