Missy Buttry named USATF Athlete of the Week

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Missy Buttry named USATF Athlete of the Week

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Ryan 14 years, 3 months ago.

  • Author
  • #2061


    (Note: This is not a rehash. This is her second time being named athlete of the week in less than a month.)

    INDIANAPOLIS – Missy Buttry has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after becoming the first athlete ever to successfully defend the women’s individual title Saturday at the 2004 USATF National Club Cross Country Championships in Portland, Oregon.

    Buttry, who won the 2003 race in Greensboro, N.C., by just a couple strides over 2002 NCAA Division I cross country runner-up Kate O’Neill, took complete command at the halfway point of the race Saturday and went on to win in 23 minutes, 7.85 seconds. Sabrina Monro was the runner-up in 23:48.39, with last year’s third place finisher Katherine Newberry placing third again in 23:53.48.

    In becoming the first athlete ever to successfully defend the women’s individual title at this event, Buttry adds to her accomplishments this year that include winning her third consecutive NCAA Division III cross country title last month as a senior at Wartburg College.

    Now in its fourth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

    2004 USATF Athlete of the Week Winners: January 13, Dan Taylor; January 20, Jen Toomey; January 27, Erin Gilreath; February 3, Jearl Miles-Clark; February 10, Alan Culpepper; February 17, Curt Clausen; February 24, Jen Toomey; March 2, Gail Devers; March 9, Allen Johnson; March 16, Sanya Richards; March 23, Phillip Dunn; March 30, Max Springer; April 6, Colleen De Reuck; April 13, Erin Gilreath; April 20, Maurice Greene; May 4, Tonette Dyer; May 11, Toby Stevenson; May 18, Sheena Johnson; May 25, Tim Seaman; June 1, Maurice Greene; June 8, Christian Cantwell; June 15, Stacy Dragila; June 22, Alan Webb; July 6, Le Shundra “DeDee” Nathan; July 13, Maurice Greene; July 20, LaShawn Merritt; July 27, Dwight Phillips; August 3, Briana Shook; August 10, Flo Meiler; August 18, Adam Nelson; August 24, Justin Gatlin; August 30, Tim Mack; September 7, Joanna Hayes; September 14, Tim Broe; September 21, Breaux Greer; September 29, Justin Gatlin; October 5, Josh McDougal; October 12, Nicole Blood; October 19, Thomas Dalton; October 26, Dan Browne; November 2, Mary Kate Bailey; November 9, Meb Keflezighi; November 16, Missy Buttry; November 23, Renee Metivier; November 30, Andrew Bumbalough; December 7, Missy Buttry.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.