Periodisation – base building

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Periodisation – base building

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  DijleLoper 13 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

DijleLoper

Hello All,

I started running 4 months ago. I am trying to get myself in the best possible aerobic shape and try to do this in the spririt of Lydiards marathon conditioning phase. I do as many aerobic training as possible. I have also been reading here about periodisation, and base building. Lydiard says somewhere todo this conditioning as long as you can afford it, maybe counting x weeks back from a target race. What if I am in no hurry at all and can afford doing base building for a verry long time. What is the maximum before starting other phases of this running cycle/ periodisation. I am not an expert on Lydiard or other training programs and I look really forward to reading your opinions on this.

Ryan
    Keymaster

This is a very interesting question and I’m not sure I can answer it but I’ll give you what I know.

If you have read this article you know Lydiard mentions needing 7 months for a complete program:

My original training schedule requires seven months to complete. It starts with a three-month long aerobic build-up, followed by a month of hill resistance. Then you move on to a three-month long track training. So if you are a serious marathon runner and the race is in October, you should start your marathon conditioning build-up in March.

However, as you mentioned, he states elsewhere (I believe one place is within this article) that you can/should continue base training as long as you can afford. Now, I’m not sure he was thinking anyone would say they have a relatively unlimited time. I’m suspecting he was thinking of someone saying their goal race is 10 months off. In that case, he’s saying take 6 months for base training and then roll into the hills and continue on.