Shoes

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Shoes

This topic contains 10 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  tgrunner 10 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

tgrunner

any recommendations for a great nuetral racing shoe for the half distance? slight frame – no particular brand preference.

Ryan
    Keymaster

I don't think it's any secret that I'm an adidas fan. A few options I'm using as trainers right now (I have been using nothing but racing shoes for training for 7+ months now):

adiZero Mana
    adiZero LT DC (basically the same thing as the Mana but slightly lighter due to different materials used)
    Response Light (a little more bulky than the Mana and LT but you get a lot more cushion for a little more weight)

I also have a pair of the adiZero Pro that I've used for racing. I'd use it for a half marathon without hesitation but some people probably wouldn't want to venture beyond about 10K with it. It might work for you if you tend to wear less shoe than most people in any given race but I'd consider it with caution.

tgrunner

A couple people have recommeded the Adizero Pro's to me. They look nice, but I've never really gotten myself into a pair of adidas. Now I have the Asic Piraha's, and I ran Al's in them last sept no problems. so i do wear minimal shoes. I tend to train in nothing heavier then 9 oz. My old flats i ran the marathon in were the katana Racers….again, no problems. The katanas broke down quickly though, and the piranahs are too light for a half.  Maybe I'll get out there and try the Pro's….Hows the fit and durability?

Interestingly enough, many of my freinds train soley in flats now too….

Ryan
    Keymaster

The Pro doesn't have the greatest durability if you're looking to get a lot of miles on it but it's also not going to fall apart after just a couple of races. Fit is pretty typical of a racing flat, not the widest shoe in the world. Off the top of my head, I believe it's a curve last.