To Marathon or To Not Marathon?

Welcome! Forums Running Forum To Marathon or To Not Marathon?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  born2run 14 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

born2run

Let me provide a brief background about myself. I’ve been running for about 2 years now. I really caught the running bug and ran in a couple of marathons last year. My times for the 2 marathons (May and October of 2003) that I’ve done are 4:27:xx for my first attempt and 4:44:xx for my second attempt. My PRs at other distances are 20:10-5K (May 2003), 33:47-5miles (July 2003), 43:30-10K (September 2002), 1:15:50-10miles (February 2004), and 1:47:23-1/2 mary (March 2003) (ran this race the weekend after a 10 miler, which turned this race into an ugly finish).

For the 2 marathons that I’ve done, training wasn’t “complete” (I’m an environmental scientist and often travel out of state for work), but I do get in about 30-40 mpw and especially for my 2nd thon, I would make sure that I get in the long run and not try to make up for it in the weekday middle distance runs.

For my first thon, I tried for a 3:30 finish and crashed and burned at mile 15. For my second thon, I started off slower and was hoping for a 3:45 finish, but crashed and burned again around mile 12.5. I’m very disappointed at my times/performances for both thons and now I’m kind of “scare” at attempting another thon – for fear that I’ll crash and burn and not be able to finish “running” a thon.

With that being said, after my 10 miler in February, I’ve been bumping up my training (was about 15-20 mpw, but about 35 mpw now) and would like to give the May (my first thon last year) thon another shot.