Un-hijacking a thread

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Un-hijacking a thread

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  r-at-work 14 years, 6 months ago.

• Author

r-at-work

okay… didn’t mean to sorta hijack the thread of introduction by Scattershot…

and I will try and heed the advise of Zeke for a positive self image…

and I’ve been waiting till I was sure that I would get a postive response before I put it all out here… even if it’s for people who I may never meet… then I read about the Ice Age race and almost quit reading, but I noticed the ONE thing that is important for me to learn, the thing that seems to allude me… and several people who KNOW me tell me I need to do… get a better attitude, not about running but about MY running…

it took seven marathons till I even considered myself a runner, so even though I’ve been running since 1991, just last November was the first time I knew the answer to the question “are you a runner”…yep…

however, I still qualify it… but I’m still improving, still working harder each year, still trying to work for a BQ…

all that aside… since I realize that I need bolstering on the psychological side of running… I have been lurking on several sites for one that was knowledgeable and not egotistical… makes sense to me that it would be based in the Midwest, I’m originally from Northern Illinois…

so my queation is how do you improve the self-image… besides not making self disparaging comments… I keep reading about how marathoning is such a “mentally tough” sport but almost all the discussion has to do with how to better physically prepared…

I know that some of the best (feeling as well as paced)races, notably an 8K and a marathon, that I’ve run I had seen the course before, knew what was coming and was mentally prepared for ‘what came next’…