What does anyone know about "PowerLung" product?

Welcome! Forums Running Forum What does anyone know about "PowerLung" product?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Sluggo 13 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Sluggo

Hello All,

Has anyone heard of this? If not, the websites http://www.LungPower.com and http://www.PowerLung.com describe it. Is it just baloney? Thanks, Sluggo.

Zeke

Kinda looks like the penile enlarger I bought. 🙄

Ryan
    Keymaster

After a race, how frequently do you feel that your diaphragm and other muscles used in breathing are too fatigued? Usually, it’s something else for me.

These websites make a lot of statements about it does increase “tidal breathing volume” and it could increase O2 uptake. Notice anything about that? It does increase something that most runners have probably never heard of (but it is a cool, scientific sounding term) and I have no knowledge of as a performance factor and it could (or could not?) result in an increase in something that is a performance factor. A quick scan of the studies they list doesn’t seem to show anything about actual performance improvement in athletes, just a lot of cool scientific-sounding terms and numbers.

Based on an admittedly less than thorough scan of the websites, add me to the list of skeptics. If I have more time this evening, maybe I’ll take a closer look but don’t hold your breath waiting for me to change my mind.

As FEV1 (forced expiratory volume in 1 second) and FVC (forced vital capacity) are determined by genetics they cannot be altered by exercise or training (training augments your cardiac function not pulmonary fxn). Conclusion: Powerlung and related products are nonsense! Save your $$$.

magpie