Why Exercise Won’t Make You Thin

Welcome! Forums Running Forum Why Exercise Won’t Make You Thin

This topic contains 32 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Andrew A. 7 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

Andrew A.

cesar
    Participant

control the mouth and thats it, i am not agree with that, i have been running for 7 years, i would bet that if ou wouldn't started running, i would look like a balloon.

Ryan
    Keymaster

Why do people insist on thinking of only one variable at a time? Diet AND exercise.

Andrew A.

It is about placing each variable in its proper context and prioritizing it appropriately.  The article lays out the 'why' behind the obvious disconnect between a marathon and half-marathon running boom occurring concurrently with a growing obesity epidemic.  What one eats and how much of it one eats plays a bigger role than is typically acknowledged.  Focused, intense exercise has side-effects (physiological, psychological) that are not being addressed by the wellness, health, and medical fields in the mainstream.  In general, a more active day overall would help more than 20-40 minutes spent walking or jogging or in the gym. 

Ryan
    Keymaster

I could write up a novel on this topic but I'll try to keep it short.

I see no reason why anyone would think that greater marathon participation should result in lower rates of obesity. Let's be honest, the number of people who have run a marathon is still a staggeringly low percentage of the overall population. In addition to that, how many are not even averaging 30 minutes running per day over the course of a full year? In the meantime, McDonalds, maintaining its strength through US sales, is one of the largest retailers of any kind in the world. Regardless of marathon participation numbers, inactivity in America is growing.